Friday, 2 September 2011

REVIEW: Sweet JustIce (Last Chance Rescue) by Christy Reece

Author: Christy Reece
Series: Last Chance Rescue
Pages: 352
Genre: Romance - Suspense
Publisher: Ballantine Books
AMAZON: Sweet Justice

Sweet Justice was kindly provided to me by Netgalley for Random House Publishing Group / Ballantine Books

Synopsis. (Goodreads)

Honor Stone is a young, idealistic FBI agent when her path collides with Seth Cavanaugh. For a girl who has never walked on the wild side, the dark and dangerous Seth is a temptation she can’t refuse. But then Seth walks out the door and out of her life. Five years later, Honor is an operative with the elite Last Chance Rescue organization and Seth is a desperate ex-cop searching for his missing niece—one of many young women who have mysteriously vanished from college campuses. Going undercover, Honor will attract the maniacal cult leader behind the kidnappings and find a way to work with Seth—while steering clear of the passion and need that’s just one touch away from explosion. Seth knows he had all the right reasons for the wrong he did five years ago. And from the moment he sees her—and takes her in his arms again—this former undercover man will risk everything for one more chance with Honor.

Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars

As a huge fan of Christy Reece’s Last Chance Rescue series, I was very excited to read an advanced copy of her new book, Sweet Justice.

The story begins with Seth Cavanaugh working deep undercover to catch a known crime lord, Hector Clemmons; part of his ruse included going from a respected cop to a dirty ex-cop, running a restaurant and dealings/associations with criminals all to be a part of Clemmons inner circle. What he didn’t expect during this time was to meet and fall in love with FBI Agent Honor Scout.

When Seth agreed to go undercover he couldn't afford to have any close associations - Honor's career would have been tarnished and Clemmons could have used her or his family as a way to manipulate him so he breaks up with her in an unforgivable way and pushes his family away. Honor is left heartbroken and bitter but goes on with her life without him.

Seth and Honor are reunited 5 years later when Seth’s young niece Kelli goes missing from her college campus; Honor is no longer in the FBI and is employed as an operative by Last Chance Rescue and agrees to lead this case working alongside Seth.

When they notice a number of similarities between Kelli’s disappearance and other missing girls, their investigation leads them to all sorts of horrors.
The villain in Sweet Justice is cruel, dominant and truly evil, the community he has built focuses solely on the males and treats the women with no respect, believing their sole purpose is to serve the men in whatever capacity required – they are brainwashed and tortured to believe this.

I enjoyed Honor, the heroine. She was strong and determined but also had a caring, loyal and compassionate nature. Her love towards Seth was evident even after such a long time apart and his feelings were obviously reciprocated although he felt he had nothing left to offer her.

I absolutely loved gorgeous, sexy Seth, he is far from perfect but the sacrifices he made in his relationships with not only his family but also with Honor would have been devastating. His dedication and commitment to catching Clemmons cost him a lot in his personal life which I feel changed him as a person.

Sweet Justice has fast-paced action scenes with vivid details, the descriptions we are given takes you right into the scene and conveys the dangers and emotions perfectly.

Ms Reece’s writing is engaging and descriptive, the pacing and plot is solid. I enjoyed the suspense, mystery, danger and of course the romance, the old lover’s reunited trope is one of my favorites and you could truly see Honor and Seth were meant to be. As with the previous books in this series, the suspense and romance are perfectly balanced.

Sweet Justice is part of a series, but can certainly be read as a stand-alone novel, although I can’t recommend the other books highly enough as well. Each set of books read as a trilogy.

Books in Order:

  1. Rescue Me - 2009
  2. Return to Me - 2009
  3. Run to Me - 2009
  4. No Chance - 2010
  5. Second Chance - 2010
  6. Last Chance - 2010
  7. Sweet Justice – 2011
  8. Sweet Revenge – 2011
  9. Sweet Reward – 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank-you so much for stopping by today!

I love to receive your comments, please leave your blog link & I'll be sure to stop by.

I also respond to your comment here on my blog :)