Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Review: Whispers at Moonrise (Shadow Falls #4) by C.C. Hunter

Whispers at Moonrise (Shadow Falls, #4) 
Author: C.C. Hunter
Series: Shadow Falls
Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult - Paranormal
Publisher: St Martins Press

Synopsis. (Goodreads)

Shadow Falls Camp is back in session with the most explosive installment yet.  A shocking new threat will rock Shadow Falls—changing it forever and altering Kylie’s journey in ways she never imagined.

Even at a camp for supernatural teens, Kylie Galen has never been normal. Not only can she see ghosts, but she doesn’t seem to belong to any one species—she exhibits traits from them all. As Kylie struggles to unlock the secrets of her identity, she begins to worry that Lucas will never be able to accept her for what she is, and what she isn’t…a werewolf.  With his pack standing in their way, Kylie finds herself turning more and more to Derek, the only person in her life who’s willing to accept the impossible.

As if life isn’t hard enough, she starts getting visits from the ghost of Holiday, her closest confidante.  Trouble is, Holiday isn’t dead…not yet anyway.  Now Kylie must race to save one of her own from an unseen danger before it’s too late—all while trying to stop her relationship with Lucas from slipping away forever.   In a world of constant confusion, there’s only one thing Kylie knows for sure.  Change is inevitable and all things must come to an end…maybe even her time at Shadow Falls.

The breathtaking fourth installment of the New York Times bestselling Shadow Falls series from author C. C. Hunter...Whispers at Moonrise.

Review: 4 ½ out of 5 stars

This review contains spoilers from the previous book

Whispers at Moonrise is the fourth book in the Shadow Falls series by the amazingly talented C.C. Hunter and follows on where Taken at Dusk left off.

Kylie Galen’s time at Shadow Falls has been filled with heartache, confusion and despair but at least now she has an answer about what supernatural species she is after receiving details from her ghostly father but all she needs to do is work out how to control it and things aren’t clear until she meets up with her Grandfather.

Not only does Kylie have to deal with being a protector and a Chameleon changing from one species to the next but she is also trying to solve the mystery of a ghost who has appeared wearing the face of someone she is extremely close to, it’s a mystery about who and what this person wants and as with the other books the clues are extremely vague.

I really felt for Kylie, it was a struggle seeing her so tormented in her feelings not only with her abilities and what she was but also in her relationship; Werewolf Lucas isn’t as present in this book and I must say I didn’t trust how distant and secretive he was being from the onset, he had way too many secrets which he wouldn’t share but the ever loving Derek was always there for Kylie which I thought was wonderful but it certainly left her feeling confused about her feelings. I am not a love triangle fan at all and I seem to go from loving one guy to the next in this series but I hope there is closure in the next book, the relationship woes make my head spin.

The secondary characters are truly wonderful and really make this book entertaining and enjoyable; Della and Miranda still play the ever present best friends with hearts of gold and humor and we see further relationship progression between Holliday and Burnett which I loved, I was at least relieved a few relationships were working out well, especially with the witch Miranda now dating Perry.

Kylie’s decision in the end was heartbreaking but understandable in the sense that she needs answers, I am curious to see what is going to happen in the next installment, that ghost she encountered at the end gave off sinister vibes.

I find myself absolutely enthralled in Ms. Hunters storytelling and writing, the detailed and vivid imagery always draws you into the scene. This is definitely one of my favorite series and I have loved finding out answers along with Kylie.

I am really eager to get hold of the final book in this series, Chosen at Nightfall which has an anticipated April 2013 release date.

Books in Order:

1. Born at Midnight
2. Awake at Dawn
3. Taken at Dusk
4. Whispers at Moonrise
5. Chosen at Nighfall

1 comment:

  1. Great Review Sharon! If this wasn't the fourth in the series I would have got a copy this weekend but since it's a big series I will start this on my next break! It sounds like I will really enjoy it!


Thank-you so much for stopping by today!

I love to receive your comments, please leave your blog link & I'll be sure to stop by.

I also respond to your comment here on my blog :)