Thursday, 15 January 2015

Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen
Pages: 320
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release date: 10th February 2015
Amazon – TBD

Synopsis: (Goodreads)

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Review: 4 out of 5 stars

The few reviews I had seen for Red Queen prior to reading it were high in praise so I started this one expecting greatness and I’m pleased to say it didn’t fail to disappoint.

Our MC is Mare Barrow who lives in a world divided by blood – silver and red; she is from a family of poorly reds who are destined to serve the elite silvers that are differentiated by their supernatural abilities. The concept is extremely unique and I liked the details we are given about the different classes.

Mare is a skilled thief and an extremely likeable heroine, she was strong and determined with a cunning and stubborn personality; when her best friend is conscripted into the army she does everything she can to win his freedom, but when her own unusual ability is discovered it brings out a whole new saga and a plan by the royals to arrange a marriage between Mare and their son so the knowledge that reds have powers isn’t revealed – she becomes a lost silver princess, her time at the palace is also an opportunity for Mare to secretly plot with the Scarlet Guard who lead the red rebellion.

There are a number of mind blowing plot twists and turns I never expected, there were secrets, political conspiracies and betrayals and it all came together nicely, the world-building is beautifully imagined with an ending that left me gaping. The action had me sitting on the edge of my seat and the smidgeon of romance was well written but certainly wasn’t at the forefront of the story.

All of the characters are fascinating and written to perfection; each played a pivotal role in the overall story, I had no idea who could be trusted and in the end I was spot on. Cal and Maven had me intrigued!

Red Queen is a fabulously thrilling YA Fantasy, it all came together perfectly and I’m more than eager to read the next book in the series.

Thank you to Harper Teen via Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review Red Queen.



Victoria AveyardAbout the author: I'm a screenwriter/YA author who likes books and lists. This site is the nexus of my universe.

My book RED QUEEN will be published Winter 2015 from HarperTeen at HarperCollins. I'm repped by the incomparable Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media, Inc. 

The genres I'm into include YA, Fantasy, Historical, Adventure, Apocalyptic - if people are dying, I'm buying.

16 comments:

  1. I can't wait to read this one! It sounds so good, and I haven't heard a bad thing about it yet. I definitely like the sound of Mare

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Mare was such a great MC! I hope you enjoy this too Michelle.

      Delete
  2. Yay, I think I'm gonna wait for the audio for this one. I'm excited!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't wait to hear your thoughts Nereyda! it would be great on audio.

      Delete
  3. I reading this one now, and struggling despite liking aspects. I think because right away I drew comparisons to Red Rising and Hunger Games. I need to just focus on this a little and see if I can slip in. I am glad to see you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope it picked up for you Kimba, I haven't read Red Rising and agree with the HG comparisons - looking forward to hearing what you thought.

      Delete
  4. I've heard so many good things about this one and it's getting so much hype. I can't wait for it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a great read! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

      Delete
  5. This sounds like the perfect mix. I like that it still included romance even if it wasn't in the forefront of the story.
    Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you really enjoyed this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Alexa, this was a lot of fun; I usually prefer more romance but I was too engulfed in the story to notice it was lacking.

      Delete
  6. From that title, I was kinda hoping that this would be an Alice in Wonderland re-telling, so I'm mildly disappointed that it's not. Divergent, and The Hunger Games comparisons aside, the plot twists, and characters sound amazeballs. Still, I'll probably hold off until book 2 to see if this series has staying power.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I keep telling myself to hold off on reading some series until it progresses but I give in easily ;-) the wait for the sequel is then excruciating.

      An Alice in Wonderland retelling would have been amazing.

      Delete
  7. I loved Divergent and The Hunger Games, and after reading your review, I am definitely going to get this one.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I want to pick this up so badly after your review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you do & enjoy it as much as I did :-)

      Delete

Thank-you so much for stopping by today!

I love to receive your comments, please leave your blog link & I'll be sure to stop by.

I also respond to your comment here on my blog :)