Sunday, 23 February 2014

Review: Grimnirs (Runes #2.5) by Ednah Walters

Grimnirs (Runes, #2.5)Grimnirs

Author: Ednah Walters
Series: Runes
Pages: 286
Publisher: Firetrail Publishing
Release date: 2nd December 2013

Synopsis. (Goodreads)

Straight out of the psych ward, Cora just wants her life to be normal. She doesn’t want to see souls or the reapers collecting them. The guy she’s loved from a distance for years moves away without saying goodbye. So yes, she’s nursing a serious heartbreak. It’s no wonder love is the last thing on her mind when Echo storms into her life. 

The chemistry between them is mind-blowing.The connection defies logic. Even better, the souls leave her alone when he is around.

Too bad Echo is the poster boy for everything she hates in a guy—hot, beautiful,and cocky. He is also a soul reaper. A Grimnir.
The very beings she wants out of her life. Maybe normal is overrated because Cora wants it all. Answers. Love. A life.

Review: 4 ½ out of 5 stars

Contains possible spoilers from the first books in the series.

As a huge fan of the Runes series, I couldn't wait to read Grimnirs by Ednah Walters, it was a fabulous addition to the series and leaves me anxious to read the next book in the series, Seeress.

Our main heroine is Cora Jemison, Raine’s amazing best friend who has recently had a stint in a mental institution; she now has the interesting ability to see souls and the arrogant reaper who collects them. Cora was a strong character, a few things have happened in her life most recently but she remained stoic and devoted.

Cora has had a huge crush on one of her best friends – Eirik but since he is MIA she is intrigued by the new, snarky, arrogant Grimnir who has entered her life and made quite the impact. Smexy Echo is a gorgeous badass with a fascinating yet heart breaking backstory which I enjoyed reading about, it softened him as a character; he was cocky and over-confident but he was also extremely loyal and protective when it came to Cora. Their interactions and their dialogue kept me entertained from the very first page.

The plot was fast paced with enjoyable action sequences and has moved the series along nicely. Cora is trying to piece together her time in the psych ward to her time now she is out but things aren’t making sense and time sequences are confusing her as well as new information she is receiving about her best friend Raine, the boy she had a huge crush on Eirick, Echo and also the Norns who may or may not have altered her memories. The premise is interesting and I enjoy Ednah Walter’s take on Norse mythology.

The writing is wonderfully detailed and kept me flipping the pages and eager to learn more; Cora and Echo made a fabulous couple and the multi-layered plot and world-building continues to develop, it’s a must read series that just gets better and better with each book.

The side characters are all brilliant! Marlina is the perfect villain, Eirik is coming to embrace what he is and Ingrid and Andris, who I find hilarious, played a bigger role. The interaction between all of the characters is done very well.

Overall, Grimnirs is a fabulous addition to the Runes series; with mystery, suspense, a swoon worthy and smexy romance and wonderful Norse Mythology it has left me eager for the next book in the series.

Books in order:
  1. Runes
  2. Immortals
  3. Grimnirs
  4. Seeress – April 2014
Thank-you to Firetrail Publishing via Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review Grimnirs.


About the author: Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, will be released April 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN.

Ednah also writes New Adult paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. She is presently working on book 2, IMMORTALS.

Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published four more books in this series. She's presently working on book six.

You can visit her online,. She’s also on Facebook,twitter, ya-twitter, Google-plus, and RomanceBlog, YAblog.


  1. Does each book have a different couple??

    1. Hi Karen, the overall series has a main couple - Raine & Torin, the novellas are for the secondary characters :-)

  2. Wait..this series is about Reapers..really? I want to know what Karen asked too and if the books need to be read in order? Awesome review my friend!

    1. Thx Kimba, I do love reaper's ;-)

      Karen & Kimba, this book can definitely be read as a standalone as enough background information has been given but to get the full effect of the world and the characters it is definitely worthwhile starting from book 1, this book bridges Runes book 2 and 3 & each novella focuses on a secondary character. I hope this helps :-) it's an amazing series.

  3. I just loved this. I am so glad you liked it. Wonderful review!!

  4. Runes was ok, glad you like this one too.

    1. Hi Ailyn, I enjoyed Runes despite having a few small issues :-)

  5. I love a book that keeps you reading because it's quick-paced and full of action!


Thank-you so much for stopping by today!

I love to receive your comments, please leave your blog link & I'll be sure to stop by.

I also respond to your comment here on my blog :)