Monday, 6 April 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Pages: 416
Release date: 5th May 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Synopsis (Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review: 5 out of 5 stars

Beauty and the Beast is one of my favourite fairy tales so to learn that the wonderfully talented Sarah J Mass had written a retelling instantly made it one of my most anticipated books of the year and in true SJM fashion, it didn’t fail to disappoint. A Court of Thorns and Roses introduces us to an enthralling world where humans and fae reside. An epic fantasy that had me entertained from the very first page.

Feyre was a wonderful MC, the huntress of her family she is the one forced to look after her father and two sisters, she had strength and determination; the sort of character you’d need on your side. When she is out hunting food, she comes across a wolf and kills it but the repercussion is a beast-like creature arriving on her doorstep to demand retribution for it; her punishment rather than death is to live out her life in the fae world of Pyrithian.

The wolf-like creature is Tamlin, not an animal but a masked, lethal, and immortal faerie who once ruled their world. Tamlin {swoon} was amazing, he’ll totally steal your heart; he could be lethal but he was kind-hearted, especially when it came to Feyre and his people.

We have a wonderful romance, it started off as hostile but ever so slowly turned into sizzling passion; it’s the type of romance I loved – their chemistry was smouldering off the charts when it happened.

The setting is wonderfully detailed and vivid, the descriptive tidbits we are given draws you in, you can envision the fine points in your mind. We also have mystery, I kept trying to guess what was going to happen or what the explanation would be but I was clueless, it was never predictable. I also enjoyed the action scenes; some parts were particularly graphic but written extremely well.

The plot was solid, the pacing perfection and the promise of more to come utterly intriguing! I was riveted by Ms. Maas beautiful writing and can’t wait to read more in this series. The world-building was strong and takes us from the human world to Pyrithian, it was filled with history, legends, magic and mystery. The characterizations were spot on and each play a crucial role in the overall story; the villains and creatures we encounter were evil and flawlessly written and I came to adore Rhysand and his cocky charm.

I couldn’t fault A Court of Thorns and Roses, my only gripe now is the wait for the next book!

Sarah J. MaasAbout the author: Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Heir of Fire, Book 3, will be out in September 2014). Starting in Spring 2015, her New Adult Fantasy series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, will be published by Bloomsbury as well. 

Sarah lives in Southern California, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much coffee, and watches absolutely rubbish TV shows. When she's not busy writing, she can be found exploring the California coastline with her husband.


  1. Yay! I'm so glad you loved this too. I thought this was a great book as well although I wish some of those things with Rhysand didn't happen. I really hope the book doesn't veer into a love triangle in the next installment. That would be disappointing! I sure did love the romance in this book though! :)
    Wonderful review, Sharon!

    1. I'm hoping there is no love triangle but I think it's looking to be that way (fingers crossed though).

      Thanks Nick x

  2. dear dog - wasn't this fabulous! I think I liked this one even better than her first series.

    1. I'd have to agree with you there Mary! I loved this.

  3. I've been seeing so many reviews for this one lately and I cannot WAIT for my preorder to get here! I'm happy to here that the action scenes are well written, not that I ever expected that to be a problem from her :)

    1. This whole book was pretty fabulous! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did Zoey,

  4. I heard this is more on the NA side which has me all sorts of excited!

  5. I have heard nothing but praise for this novel, I'm actually quite excited for it since I have already pre-ordered it already. I love fairytale retellings so here's to hoping this one might be amazing<3 Wonderful review! <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    1. I don't tend to enjoy retellings but this one was done extremely well, I hope you enjoy reading it when your copy arrives :-)

  6. I haven't read anything by this author yet, but it certainly does seem like everyone loves her books to pieces! I am so going to read the Throne of Glass series first, but afterwards this one comes next!


Thank-you so much for stopping by today!

I love to receive your comments, please leave your blog link & I'll be sure to stop by.

I also respond to your comment here on my blog :)